Volvo Ocean Race (VOR) 2017-18:  The Volvo Ocean Race 2017-18 will begin on Sunday, October 22, 2017, in Alicante, Spain, when the teams set out to complete a total of 45,000 nautical miles of offshore racing, over a course that takes in 11 landmark cities in five continents over eight months. Formerly known as the Whitbread Round the World Race when started in 1973, it is held every three years.

Volvo Ocean Race 2014-15: Team Vestas Wind aground on a reef in the Indian Ocean:

Team Vestas Wind’s boat grounded on the Cargados Carajos Shoals, Mauritius, in the Indian Ocean. The incident initially occurred during the night of November 29. Fortunately, no one was injured.

Volvo Ocean Race stopovers for the 2017-18 edition:

Caribbean Safety and Security Net

sailing - Google News

America's Cup - Google News

More Sailing News

ISAF sailing - Google News

Rolex sailing - Google News

US sailing - Google News

Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race - Google News

Vendee Globe - Google News