24 December 2016

2016 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race UPDATES, Sailing Videos

2016 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race – 29 December – Giacomo crowned race winner:

Jim Delegat’s Giacomo is confirmed as the overall winner of the 2016 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race. Giacomo, a 70-ft yacht from New Zealand, becomes the first overseas yacht to win the race since 2007. Victory is reward for an excellent and consistent race and is a triumph of persistence. Two years ago, Giacomo was forced to retire from the Rolex Sydney Hobart after she dismasted off the Tasmanian coast. After a year rebuilding the boat, the crew returned for the 72nd edition of the race determined to make amends for that disappointment. After finishing just under two hours behind line honours winner Perpetual LOYAL, and registering the second fastest time in the race’s history, overall victory was confirmed when the pursuing yachts hit fickle conditions in Storm Bay and along the Derwent River. Reward for this outstanding success came in the shape of the Tattersall’s Cup and a Rolex Oyster Perpetual Yacht-Master 40.
Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2016 – 28 December – A New Race Record:

Video above published Dec 27, 2016: The race record has been broken in the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race. Arriving in Hobart at 02:31.20 on Wednesday 28 December, Anthony Bell’s Perpetual LOYAL set a a time of 1 day, 13 hours, 31 minutes and 20 seconds, some 4 hours, 51 minutes and 52 seconds faster than Wild Oats XI’s 2012 record. Taking advantage of a consistent breeze throughout the 628-nautical mile race, Perpetual LOYAL enjoyed close competition with eight-time line honours winner Wild Oats XI, assuming leadership of the race shortly after the latter’s retirement. It was a lead she preserved during the final stages of the race along the eastern coast of Tasmania and down the Derwent River to the finish line in Hobart. During the line honours presentation held on Constitution Dock in Hobart, Bell and his crew were rewarded for their remarkable exploits with the J.H. Illingworth Trophy and a Rolex Yacht-Master II timepiece.

Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race Line Honors:  @PerpetualLoyal crossed the line in Hobart at 2:31.20am on Wednesday December 28, 2016--Official race time for Perpetual Loyal: 1 day, 13 hrs, 31 mins, 20 secs.--Beats Wild Oats XI 2012 record by 4hrs, 51 mins, 52 secs.

Line Honours:
1. Perpetual LOYAL
2. Giacomo (overall race winner)
3. Scallywag
4. Black Jack
5. Beau Geste

Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race UPDATE: 27 December – Relentless Pace:

UPDATE: Records are set to be broken at the 2016 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race as the fleet makes rapid progress through the Bass Strait on route to the finish line in Hobart, Tasmania. The Rolex Sydney Hobart is always an unforgiving and unpredictable race and this year’s 72nd edition is proving no exception. Anthony Bell’s Perpetual LOYAL leads the fleet and together with a number of frontrunners is sailing well within the race record time. The holder of that record and eight-time line honours winner, Wild Oats XI, was forced to retire from the race after sustaining keel damage. She was leading the race at the time. Further twists and turns are expected in the coming hours as Hobart prepares for the arrival of the first boats.

2016 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race Start, LIVE Video Replay:

The LIVE broadcast video of the start of the 2016 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race from Sydney, Australia

UPDATEWild Oats XI confirms retirement - Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2016: "Wild Oats XI retires with keel damage --News from Australia, Tuesday, December 27, 2016 12:00 PM"

Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race – 26 December – Race Underway

The 2016 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race is underway. A fleet of eighty-eight yachts from eleven countries, and comprising four 100-ft Maxi yachts, are contesting the 72nd edition of this famous 628-nautical mile offshore race. On a perfect Sydney summer’s day, and with hundreds of thousands of specators watching on from the city’s numerous vantage points, the fleet provided a stunning speactacle sailing under spinnaker. Among the Maxis, Perpetual Loyal made the most impressive start and was the first yacht to clear Sydney Heads and begin the charge down the New South Wales coast of the Tasman Sea. The Rolex Sydney Hobart is revered throughout the world. Its legend, heritage and distinctive slot in the international sporting calendar have ensured it is one of few sailing events to have genuinely entered the public consciousness. Rolex has been Title Sponsor of the race since 2002.

Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2015 Highlights Video:

Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2015 - Highlights - The 71st edition of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race lived up to its name with the most dramatic weather and racing conditions in over a decade. Of the 108 boats, 28 were from international countries, including the first ever Chinese yachts. Sailing their 100 foot Maxi Comanche, Jim and Kristy Clark took home line honours, as well as a Yacht Master II in Everose Rolesor; while Paul Clitheroe and his TP52 Balance won the coveted Tattersall’s Cup, in addition to a Yacht Master I in Rolesium. Published on Jan 26, 2016

2016 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race: Over the past 71 years, the Rolex Sydney Hobart has become an icon of Australia's summer sport. No regular annual yachting event in the world attracts such huge media coverage than does the start on Sydney Harbour on Boxing Day, December 26, 1:00 pm local time in Sydney, Australia.

more about sailing below (@ web version link below for mobile)

Caribbean Safety and Security Net

sailing - Google News

America's Cup - Google News

More Sailing News

ISAF sailing - Google News

Rolex sailing - Google News

US sailing - Google News

Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race - Google News

Vendee Globe - Google News